Miley Cyrus released “Younger Now” on Friday, the third single from the eponymous album set to be released on September 29. She also released a music video to accompany the song.

“Younger Now” appears to be a reference to Cyrus’ recent change in her public persona. Once seen as a teen star gone sour, Cyrus has worked to redefine her image as a respected musician and adult.

“Even though it’s not who I am / I’m not afraid of who I used to be / No one stays the same,” Cyrus sings early in the song. Later she says, “Change is a thing you can count on.”

The music video has a 1950s county/carnival/sock-hop theme, in which Cyrus rocks an Elvis inspired hair do. The song itself is not quite country but pop with a taste of country in the background, highlighted by a picked steel-string guitar.

The video has quickly become the number one music video on Apple’s iTunes.

In addition to the single and video, Cyrus released the cover art and track list of the new album Younger Now.

The album will feature 11 original tracks, three of which have previously been released – “Malibu,” “Inspired,” and “Younger Now” are the album’s three singles.

Country music legend Dolly Parton, who recently appeared on Kesha‘s Rainbow, is the only collaborator named on the track listing.

Cyrus was absent from the Teen Choice Awards this past Sunday because she was preparing for the release of the “Younger Now” single and music video, according to the 24-year-old singer.

Watch the “Younger Now” music video below and check out the track listing below that.

Younger Now

  1. Younger Now
  2. Malibu
  3. Rainbowland feat. Dolly Parton
  4. Week Without You
  5. Miss You So Much
  6. I Would Die For You
  7. Thinkin’
  8. Bad Mood
  9. Love Someone
  10. She’s Not Him
  11. Inspired

Leave a comment

Read more about: