Whitney Houston, the Doobie Brothers, the Notorious B.I.G., Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode and T. Rex are among the many new additions announced as new inductees into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

The music association revealed last week which artists would take the coveted spots. Most inductees announced are first-time nominees; other contenders who were nominated in the Rock Hall Fan Vote for the first time but weren’t voted in include Pat Benatar, Dave Matthews Band, Motorhead, Thin Lizzy and Soundgarden, along with prior nominees Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Kraftwerk, Judas Priest, Todd Rundgren and MC5. Kraftwerk was nominated six times prior, and MC5 was previously nominated five times. Fans cast their votes on rockhall.com and at the Hall of Fame in Cleveland through January 10 before winners were announced. Ballots were sent to an estimated 1,00 artists, historians and additional music industry insiders to determine its inductions.

To be considered for the Rock Hall honor, artists are required to have released a commercial work as far back as 25 years. Last years inductees include, Janet Jackson, The Cure, Radiohead, Def Leppard, Stevie Nicks, the Zombies and Roxy Music, who were among the chosen ones celebrated and inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Barclay’s Center in Brooklyn.

This year’s 2020 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on May 2 at Cleveland’s Public Auditorium and broadcast live on HBO at 8 p.m. ET.

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the uInterview newsletter