The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has released the 19 nominations for induction into the Hall in 2017.


First time nominees include Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, and Steppenwolf. First time nominees who also only became eligible for the Hall this year are Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur. To be eligible, the artist or group must have released its first album at least 25 years ago, meaning no later than 1991.

In the past, 10 or 12 names have appeared on the ballot, but this year’s 19 was no accident. “Voting in the past has been so close, the nominating committee wanted to be more inclusive and have more choices for fans and the voting body,” the Hall said in a statement. Despite the increased number of nominees, the Hall has said the number of inductees will not be affected, and should remain around about five.

Artists are voted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, and fans can actually vote online at These votes, however, will not count very much toward the actual determination of the winners. Artists who receive the top five number of votes will form on ballot. The public vote, however, will help inform the Hall as to who the public want to see inductees, and conversely who it does not.

Inductees will be announced in December of this year, and the induction ceremonies will take place at Barclays Center in Brooklyn in April 2017. Tickets can be purchased at a later date, and HBO will also stream the event.

See the full list of nominees below.

Bad Brains
Chaka Khan
Depeche Mode
Electric Light Orchestra
J. Geils Band
Jane’s Addiction
Janet Jackson
Joan Baez
Joe Tex
Pearl Jam
The Cars
The Zombies
Tupac Shakur

Leave a comment

Read more about: