One Direction boy band members Harry Styles, Liam Payne, Louis Tomlinson, Niall Horan and Zayn Malik added yet another award to their collection, as it was announced that they have nabbed one of the biggest awards at the 2012 MTV European Music Awards, the ceremony for which will take place in Frankfurt on November 22, 2012.

Tomlinson accepted the honor on the band's behalf, saying "We're so happy and incredibly honoured to have won this. Once again our amazing fans have done us proud – thanks so much as always to you all” said Tomlinson.

The accolade bestowed upon One Direction qualifies them to compete against other European acts for a shot at winning in the Worldwide Act category.

Rihanna and Taylor Swift are nominated for six and five of the EMA "gongs," respectively, followed by Justin Bieber and Katy Perry with four each. Swift will also perform at the show, along with Muse, No Doubt, Carly Rae Jepsen and Rita Ora.

This weekend band members Louis and Zayn announced that they got the same tattoos Harry and Liam already had, making the only holdout Niall. "So Me and Liam joined the crew yesterday and got two screw tattoo’s on our ankles , now we all have it except Niall !Come on @NaillOfficial," tweeted Louis.

Get Uinterview's FREE iPhone App For Daily News Updates here.

Get the FREE Uinterview iPad app here and watch our videos anywhere.

For more like this:

Spice Girls Reunite, Announce Musical

Spice Girls Reunite At London 2012 Closing Ceremony

London 2012 Closing Ceremony Features UK Talent From Naomi Campbell To George Michael

SPOILERS: 2012 London Olympic Closing Ceremonies Will Rock You

'Blade Runner' Oscar Pistorius Still A Hero Despite Not Qualifying For Olympic Finals

U.S. Sprinter Sanya Richards-Ross Finally Gets Her Olympic Gold

Leave a comment

Read more about: