Nine Inch Nails have announced a new EP, Not the Actual Events, which will be released on Dec. 23 via the band’s website.

The band’s last album, Hesitation Marks, arrived back in 2013. Since then, they have been focused on creating film scores with Atticus Ross for features such as Gone Girl, Before the Flood and Patriots Day.

Front-man Trent Reznor worked with Ross, longtime collaborator and “now official bandmate,” on the new project. In a press release, Reznor stated, “It’s an unfriendly, fairly impenetrable record that we needed to make. It’s an EP because that ended up being the proper length to tell that story.”

Nine Inch Nails are also planning a limited vinyl edition of The Fragile through the NIN store. The four-disc, 150-minute version will feature 37 instrumental, alternate and unreleased tracks, many of which have never been heard before. The Fragile: Deviations 1 will be released in Spring 2017.

The Fragile occupies a very interesting and intimate place in my heart. I was going through a turbulent time in my life when making it and revisiting it has become a form of therapy for me. As an experiment, I removed all the vocals from the record and found it became a truly changed experience that worked on a different yet compelling level. The Fragile: Deviations 1 represents Atticus and I embellishing the original record with a number of tracks from those sessions we didn’t use before. The result paints a complimentary but different picture we wanted to share,” Reznor said in a press release.


Read more about: