Luis Fonsi and his hit “Despacito” were the big winners at Thursday’s Latin Grammy Awards, with the song winning all of its nominations.


The song took home four awards, including Song of the Year. Singer-songwriter Fonsi dedicated all of his wins to his native Puerto Rico, as did various other artists throughout the night. In fact, the evening opened with a moment of silence for the storm-ravaged island.

“I’m here because of Puerto Rico, and this song is a hymn to Puerto Rico,” Fonsi revealed after the show. “Everything I do, and everything I will do, now more than ever, is to continue celebrating my island, my culture, my homeland and my music, and to make sure the public knows that Puerto Rico needs help.”

Also at the ceremony, Lin-Manuel Miranda, who is of Puerto Rican descent, took home the President’s Merit Award, which he also dedicated to the island. He gave his acceptance speech in both English and Spanish, and described himself as “the weird theater kid here with the half-gringo accent.” He also took the time to remind the government that the people of Puerto Rico are part of the United States and “are human beings too.”

Other winners of the night were Ruben Blades for Album of the Year, rapper Residente, who topped the evening with nine nominations and two wins, and Alejandro Sanz, who won the Latin Recording Academy’s Person of the Year award.

Most of the winners were awarded their statuettes during a pre-telecast ceremony, while the live show mostly consisted of performances from the likes of Natalia LafourcadeMalumaJuanesJ BalvinLika Downs, CNCO, Mon LaferteNicky Jam and Carlos Vives.

See the full winners list below.

Record Of The Year – Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – “Despacito”
Album Of The Year – Rubén Blades Con Roberto Delgado & Orquesta – Salsa Big Band
Song Of The Year – Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – “Despacito” (Daddy Yankee, Erika Ender & Luis Fonsi, Songwriters)
Best New Artist – Vicente García
Best Contemporary Pop Vocal Album – Shakira – El Dorado
Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album – Lila Downs – Salón, Lágrimas Y Deseo
Best Urban Fusion/Performance – Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – “Despacito (ft. Justin Bieber)”
Best Urban Music Album – Residente – Residente
Best Urban Song – Residente – “Somos Anormales” (Rafael Arcaute, Igor Koshkendey & Residente, Songwriters)
Best Rock Album – Diamante Eléctrico – La Gran Oscilación
Best Pop/Rock Album – Juanes – Planes Son Amarte
Best Rock Song – TIE – Diamante Eléctrico – “Déjala Rodar” (Diamante Eléctrico, Songwriters) and
Andrés Calamaro – “La Noche” (Andrés Calamaro, Songwriter)
Best Alternative Music Album – Café Tacvba – Jei Beibi
Best Alternative Song – Mon Laferte – “Amárrame (ft. Juanes)” — (Mon Laferte, Songwriter)
Best Salsa Album – Rubén Blades Con Roberto Delgado & Orquesta – Salsa Big Band
Best Cumbia/Vallenato Album – Jorge Celedón Y Sergio Luis Rodríguez – Ni Un Paso Atrás
Best Contemporary Tropical Album – Guaco – Bidimensional
Best Traditional Tropical Album – Jon Secada feat. The Charlie Sepúlveda Big Band – To Beny Moré With Love
Best Tropical Fusion Album – Olga Tañón – Olga Tañón Y Punto.
Best Tropical Song – Vicente García – “Bachata En Kingston” (Vicente García, Songwriter)
Best Singer-Songwriter Album – Vicente García – A La Ma
Best Ranchero/Mariachi Album – Flor De Toloache – Las Caras Lindas
Best Banda Album – Banda El Recodo De Cruz Lizárraga – Ayer Y Hoy
Best Norteño Album – Los Palominos – Piénsalo
Best Regional Song – Juan Treviño – “Siempre Es Así (ft. AJ Castillo)” (Juan Treviño, Songwriter)
Best Instrumental Album – Michel Camilo & Tomatito – Spain Forever
Best Folk Album – Natalia Lafourcade – Musas (Un Homenaje Al Folclore Latinoamericano En Manos De Los Macorinos, Vol. 1)
Best Tango Album – Fernando Otero – Solo Buenos Aires
Best Flamenco Album – Vicente Amigo – Memoria De Los Sentidos
Best Latin Jazz/Jazz Album – Eliane Elias – Dance Of Time
Best Christian Album (Spanish Language) – Alex Campos – Momentos
Best Portuguese Language Christian Album – Aline Barros – Acenda A Sua Luz
Best Portuguese Language Contemporary Pop Album – Tiago Iorc – Troco Likes Ao Vivo: Um Filme De Tiago Iorc
Best Portuguese Language Rock Or Alternative Album – Nando Reis – Jardim – Pomar
Best Samba/Pagode Album – Mart’nália – Misturado
Best MPB (Musica Popular Brasileira) Album – Edu Lobo, Romero Lubambo, Mauro Senise – Dos Navegantes
Best Sertaneja Music Album – Daniel — Daniel
Best Brazilian Roots Album – Bruna Viola – Ao Vivo – Melodias Do Sertão
Best Portuguese Language Song – Anavitória – “Trevo (Tu) (Tiago Iorc)” — Ana Caetano & Tiago Iorc, Songwriters
Best Latin Children’s Album – Varios Artistas – Marc Anthony For Babies
Best Classical Album – Música De Compositores Costarricenses Vol. 2 — Eddie Mora, Directing The Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional De Costa Rica; Winnie Camila Berg, Solista; Carlos Chaves, Album Producer
Best Classical Contemporary Composition – Mabel Millán – “Sonata Del Decamerón Negro” — Leo Brouwer, Composer
Best Recording Package – Magín Díaz – El Orisha De La Rosa — Carlos Dussán, Juliana Jaramillo, Juan Felipe Martínez & Claudio Roncoli, Art Directors
Best Engineered Album – Juanes – Mis Planes Son Amarte — Josh Gudwin, Mixer; Tom Coyne, Mastering Engineer
Producer Of The Year – Eduardo Cabra
Best Short Form Music Video – Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – “Despacito”
Best Long Form Music Video – Natalia Lafourcade – Musas, El Documental

Leave a comment

Read more about: