Barcelona’s annual music festival, Primavera Sound, just announced its lineup for the summer of 2021. The festival was supposed to celebrate its 20th anniversary this summer starting on June 3, but it was postponed in March due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


After postponement, Primavera was set to take place in August, but now it appears festival-goers will have to wait until 2021. On Wednesday, Primavera’s Twitter account posted a new lineup for 2021. Tickets for next summer’s Barcelona festival will go on sale starting June 3 and all 2020 tickets are valid for next year’s festival.

Earlier this month, the festival stated: “Today, Primavera Sound announces the most difficult decision in its history: finally we will not be able to celebrate our 20th anniversary during 2020. In the face of the evolution of the Covid-19 health crisis, we find ourselves obliged to postpone the next edition of Primavera Sound Barcelona, for reasons of force majeure, until next year: from 2nd to 6th June 2021.”

Headliners of next summer’s festival will include Bad Bunny, Jamie xx, Tyler, the Creator, FKA Twigs, Caribou, Tame Impala, The Strokes, The National, Young Thug and Charli XCX. A few major acts scheduled for 2020, like Lana Del Rey and Massive Attack, are not featured in the 2021 lineup.

The famed Barcelona festival launched in 2001 with an audience of 7,000 and in 2018 it boasted 220,000 festival-goers.

Primavera Sound is among many summer festivals to have been postponed or canceled this year. However, Primavera’s inaugural sister festival in Los Angeles is still scheduled to take place on September 12.

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the uInterview newsletter

Read more about: