The additional cast members for the third season of the hit comic book television series The Umbrella Academy have been revealed. These seven new actors will portray the Sparrow Academy, a group of individuals formed by the character Ben Hargreeves (Justin H. Min), who almost serve as doppelgängers to the original members of the Umbrella Academy in the alternate timeline within the show. In addition to these seven new members joining the cast, Elliott Page, Tom Hopper, David Castañeda, Emmy Raver-Lampman, Robert Sheehan and Aidan Gallagher will once again return to portray their roles from the previous two seasons.

The Sparrow Academy will be portrayed by Justin Cornwell, Britne Oldford, Jake Epstein, Genesis Rodriguez and Cazzie David. The seventh person who is also the strangest and most unique member of the Sparrow Academy will not be portrayed by an actor, but instead be a “sentient” cube called Christopher who will serve as the group’s source for information and family mediator. The call sheet even labels Christopher’s “actor” as an “existential dread inducing psykronium cube.” In addition to Christopher serving as the group’s advisor and oracle, the living cube will also have the powers to turn a room freezing cold and induce paralyzing fear. The call sheet of the list states that Christopher is a force to be reckoned with and is loyal, trustworthy and treated by the Sparrows as if it was one of their siblings.

Hargreeves, who was portrayed by Min in the previous season, will not be the same person that the audience has gotten to know and instead be a very different individual. It is currently unknown if the Sparrow Academy will serve as antagonists for the titular Umbrella Academy, but there is no doubt that they will certainly change up the dynamic of the show once they make their introduction.

The third season of The Umbrella Academy is set to premiere sometime in 2021 on the streaming service Netflix.


A week of entertainment news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Leave a comment

Read more about: