This year’s Tribeca Film Festival jury features 33 members, including Whoopi Goldberg, Lake Bell, as well as The Hunger Games director Gary Ross.

The 33 jury members will be split into seven groups, one for each competition category: World Narrative Competition, World Documentary Competition, Best New Narrative Director, Best New Documentary Director, Narrative Short Film, Documentary and the Student Visionary Award. Two other awards, the Bombay Sapphire Award for Transmedia and the Norah Ephron Prize, will also be awarded. Winners of the seven festival categories will receive $150,000 and prizes, and eight of the winners will also get to take home an original artwork. Winner of the second annual Nora Ephron Prize, which recognizes a female writer or director, will receive $25,000.

Seven Juries Will Award Prizes At 2014 Tribeca Film Fest

Lake Bell, the How to Make It In America actress whose directorial debut, In A World, was a festival hit at Sundance in 2013, is excited to be a member of the World Narrative Competition jury.

“This is the first time I am a juror so I’m very excited to be a part of the Tribeca team this year. It’s a lot of work and I take it really seriously. Obviously I had a tremendous experience and I’m very thankful to Sundance. I know how it can change for a first time filmmaker or any filmmaker. It can change your life, so I’m really excited to see all these new films. I am a film fanatic and film buff. I’m a film fan, I’m so excited to be an audience member and enjoy it,” Bell said of her new position.

Joining Bell are four other writer/directors: Steve Conrad, who wrote The Pursuit of Happyness and The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Bart Freundlich, director of Catch That Kid and Trust the Man, Ben Younger (Prime) and Catherine Hardwicke (Thirteen, Twilight).

New York Magazine film critic, David Edelstein, will serve alongside journalist and television producer Nick Fraser, Andrea Meditch, founder of Back Allie Films, Jenni Wolfson, executive director of Chicken & Egg Pictures, and director and producer Marina Zenovich on the jury for the World Documentary Competition.

Jurassic Park actor Jeff Goldblum, who most recently starred in Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel, will be judging this year's directorial debuts as a member of the Best New Narrative Director jury. As will Lebanese filmmaker Nadie Labaki (Caramel), All My Children’s Dorothy Lyman, actress Adepero Oduye (Pariah, 12 Years A Slave) and Mickey Sumner, who starred in last year’s surprise hit Frances Ha.

Rebecca Cammisa, the two-time Oscar nominated documentary director, will sit on the jury for Best New Documentary Director. Joining Cammisa are actors Heather Graham (The Hangover), Michael Stuhlbarg (A Serious Man) and Nate Parker (The Secret Life of Bees, Non-Stop), as well as American documentary film director Doug Pray (Art & Copy).

Mexican actor, Alfonso Arau, will serve on the Narrative Short Film jury alongside fellow acting vets Whoopi Goldberg and Christine Lahti, The Vampire Diaries actor Paul Wesley and HBO Documentary Films President Sheila Nevins.

Actress, producer and casting director, Lindsay Burdge will lend her expertise to the jury for the Documentary Award and the Student Visionary Award. Actress Toni Collette (Muriel’s Wedding, About a Boy) joins Burdge, along with Vince President of Engineering at Google, Regina Dugan, documentary producer, Simon Kulmurry, who has won twelve Emmys and is chief executive of American Documentary, and actor Anton Yelchin, whose film 5 to 7 will premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival.

Paola Antonelli, curator for MoMA, Kira Pollack, TIME Magazine’s director of photography, and Caspar Sonnen, a man at the forefront of new media art forms and festivals make up the jury that will award the Bombay Sapphire Award for Transmedia.

Finally, Delia Ephron, sister to the late Nora Ephron, will serve on the jury for the Nora Ephron Award. Ephron is a writer in her own right, having written You’ve Got Mail and The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants for the screen, as well as worked as a journalist, playwright and author. Ephron will be joined by director Gary Ross (The Hunger Games) and Orange Is The New Black actress Natasha Lyonne.

Olivia Truffaut-Wong

Leave a comment