Philip Seymour Hoffman’s directorial debut, Jack Goes Boating, enters theaters on September 23. Jack, played by Hoffman, is an awkward, love-challenged man who finds himself set up on a date with Connie, played by the wonderfully talented Amy Ryan. The two make plans to go boating the following summer, although Jack has one problem; he can’t swim and must learn before their looming date.

The same producers who created Little Miss Sunshine, Away We Go and Sunshine Cleaning are bringing the film to theaters. With a background like this, expect a charmingly witty drama. The trailer has already garnered attention, in part because of its entrancing musical accompaniment.

The soundtrack features a collection of soft, nostalgic music that is certain to lull even the most electric days. As good soundtracks are, this collection of songs is laid out in an order that is gratifyingly rounded. The album begins with “Oliver James” by Fleet Foxes, which immediately reflects the artistic charm that the movie is speculated to radiate. The songs continue to flow naturally into one another. They rise at times with songs like, “Rivers of Babylon” by The Melodians and “Hello Young Lovers” by Mel Torme. These songs are perfectly bookmarked by earthy, folk-ish songs.

The genre changes do nothing but supplement the soundtrack’s suggestion of growing character. It’s easy to feel the change that Jack will encounter: the ups and downs, the drama coupled with playful happiness. Fortunately, with all this change looming through the album, one thing remains consistent–the endearing waves of gentle-volumed tunes.

As far as indie soundtracks go, this is probably the pick of the year. If you like Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear, Cat Power and Devotchka, this album will satisfy your craving and more. The album will beg you to do something emotionally charming. For 47 minutes it will whisper in your ear,  "Be sad, be happy, and be everything in between.”

The soundtrack implores you to buy the album, a scarf and some coffee, then smile and watch the leaves fall in the park this fall.

Jack Goes Boating Original Soundtrack
Lakeshore Records – 2010 Overture Films

1. “Oliver James” by Fleet Foxes

2. “All We Ask” by Grizzly Bear

3. “Rivers of Babylon” by The Melodians

4. “Snow” by Evan Lurie

5. “Where is My Love” by Cat Power

6. “Eat Yourself” by Goldfrapp

7. “White Winter Hymnal” by Fleet Foxes

8. “Didn’t I” by Darondo

9. “Dearly Departed” by Devotchka

10. “Hello, Young Lovers” by Mel Torme

11. “Overcome Me” by Evan Lurie

12. “Blue Moon” by Dave’s True Story

13. “Peace Piece” by Bill Evans

Read more about: