Alex Trebek, host of Jeopardy, and the hosts of Wheel of Fortune Pat Sajak and Vanna White have all renewed their contracts and have signed on to host their respective game shows through the 2019-20 broadcast season.

Wheel of Fortune is currently in its 34th season and Jeopardy is in its 33rd. Their hosts have been staples on television for at least three decades. Trabek has hosted Jeopardy since 1984, White has been the hostess of Wheel of Fortune since 1982, and Sajak has hosted since 1981.

“Pat, Vanna, and Alex are beloved by generations of TV viewers, and the enduring popularity of Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy is a testament to their incredible talents,” said Harry Friedman, the executive producer of both shows, in a statement. “All of us at Wheel of FortuneJeopardy, and Sony Pictures Television are thrilled that they will continue through the 2019-20 season.”

Friedman has a lot to be thrilled about, in fact. Both shows have been enormously successful since their respective inceptions. Jeopardy is currently the number one quiz show on television and holds the Guinness World Record for most Emmy wins by a game show at 34. Wheel of Fortune averages 10.2 million weekly viewers and is the most watched show on television.


A week of entertainment news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Both shows have been distributed by CBS Television Distribution since 2007.

Leave a comment

Read more about: