HBO has revealed that the massive hit television show Game of Thrones will be receiving three new additional prequel series. As of 2021, there are now six prequel spin-offs to Game of Thrones in development. The six new spin-off shows will be House of the Dragon, 9 Voyages, an untitled series that focuses on the town of Flea Bottom, a show that focuses on the characters from House Targaryen Dunk and Egg, a prequel the centers on the legendary warrior character Nymeria and an animated drama series. Each of these series will take place long before the events of Game of Thrones and will likely not include any of the cast members from the original show. George R.R. Martin will serve as an executive producer for all six spin-offs.

House of the Dragon will be the first of the prequels to be in development and will feature Miguel Sapochnik and Ryan Condal as co-showrunners. The series will focus on the founding of the ancient and important faction House Targaryen, the family where the iconic character Daenerys Targaryen (Emilia Clarke) was from. 9 Voyages will have Bruno Heller serve as its showrunner and focus on the adventures of the character Corlys Veralyon as he explores the world and discovers many of the iconic locations seen in the original show. The Flea Bottom series focuses on the town of the same name where characters like Davos Seaworth (Liam Cunningham) and Gendry (Joe Dempsie) are from. It will explore the poor area of King’s Landing and how the people live in it.

The Dunk and Egg show takes place 90 years before Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire book series and follow the adventures of Ser Duncan “Dunk” the Tall and his squire Aegon “Egg” Targaryen, who later becomes the king of Westeros. The Nymeria series will focus on the backstory of the legendary warrior and dive deep into the history of House Martell. Little information has been given on the animated spin-off series, as it is still mainly a rumor, but it will more than likely be a prequel like the other new spin-offs.

Read more about: