The eagerly-awaited Star Wars: The Force Awakens has just received a PG-13 rating from the Motion Picture Association of America, making it the second film in the series to receive such a rating.

‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Get PG-13 Rating

The original trilogy films were all rated PG (PG-13 did not exist at the time) and the first two films of George Lucas‘ prequel trilogy were rated similarly. 2005’s The Revenge Of The Sith was first to break the mold.The darker film featured more mature themes and violent imagery and news of The Force Awakens similar rating means it will follow in the same vein.

The film received the rating for “sci-fi action violence” and will require younger children to be accompanied by an adult, warning that some material may be inappropriate for children under 13.

The rating brings the film in line with most modern blockbusters, such as Marvel’s Avengers and Jurassic World. The film is expected to be the highest grossing of 2015 and some bookmakers have even stopped taking bets on it surpassing Avatar’s $2.7 billion to become the highest-grossing movie of all time.


A week of entertainment news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens is due out Dec. 18.

Leave a comment

Read more about: