The seventh annual CMT Artists of the Year celebration will honor Shania Twain with the Artist of a Lifetime award.


The 90-minute special will feature exciting performances and tributes to the biggest country music stars this year, and will be recorded live at Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville. CMT will also be celebrating the five artists selected as the top artists of the year, which are Carrie UnderwoodChris StapletonGeorgia LineLuke Bryan and Thomas Rhett. CMT will also honor Kelsea Ballerini with their Artist of the Year Breakout Award.

Twain is the first female to be awarded as Artist of a Lifetime by CMT. She is a five-time Grammy winner, sold more than 75 albums worldwide, and holds the spot for top-selling female country artist of all time. She also holds the number one top-selling country album of all time, 1997’s Come on Over. Unsurprisingly, that album is the top-selling album by a female in any genre ever.

Twain joins stars like Kenny Rogers and Merle Haggard, who won the lifetime achievement award in past years.


A week of entertainment news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

The CMT Artists of the Year celebration will premiere Oct. 20 at 9 p.m.

See Twain’s music video for hit “That Don’t Impress Me Much” below.

Leave a comment

Read more about: