RuPaul’s Drag Race shocked fans on Friday when not one but two winners were crowned on the finale of All Stars season 4— Monét X Change and Trinity the Tuck

The two earned the title of “America’s Next Drag Superstar” and will receive $100,000 cash each and spots in the “Drag Race Hall of Fame.”

“When faced with the difficult decision of which queen deserved to win, the words of the great philosopher, Michelle Visage, popped into my head: It takes two to make a thing go right. It takes two to make it out of sight,” host and executive producer RuPaul said in a press release released by VH1. “Not only are Monét X Change and Trinity The Tuck the best of the best, together they can spread their charisma, uniqueness, nerve and talent wider, faster and further than ever before. Long Live Drag Race!”

Monét X Change took to Instagram to celebrate the unconventional win.


A week of entertainment news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Orlando queen Trinity Taylor, now known as Trinity the Tuck, wasn’t initially as pleased with the first-ever winning tie.

However, Trinity came to enjoy the unexpected twist as well. 

Wow! I am so excited and very grateful. This cast was amazing, so I’m very happy that I got to experience this with them! I am so very thankful to RuPaul and the judges for pushing me to be better and seeing an All Star in me! I’m so thankful to World of Wonder and VH1 for giving me this platform and I’m so proud to have this honor! I couldn’t have done this without the support of my partner Leo, my friends, family and fans! Thank you,” Trinity said in VH1’s press release. 

Trinity, the stage name of Ryan Taylor, is a former Miss Pulse. She competed on season nine of RuPaul’s Drag Race in 2017 and made it to the final four. 

The winners were announced at the second and final L.A. show on Grammy winner Kacey Musgraves Oh, What a World tour. 

“If you’re here tonight, it means you are missing out on the season finale of season four of RuPaul’s Drag Race: All Stars,” Musgraves told the audience, before bringing out the show’s winners, dressed in their sparkling crowns and scepters. “Tonight we have not one but two queens!”

The Follow Your Arrow singer is a winner herself, after taking home the coveted Album of the Year award at this years Grammys for her record, Golden Hour.

The 30-year-old singer also served as a guest judge on this season of RuPaul’s Drag Race: All Stars.

Season 11 of RuPaul’s Drag Race series will premiere on Thursday, Feb. 28, at 9 p.m.on VH1. Miley Cyrus will be a guest in the premiere and VH1 says she “goes undercover in the workroom to spy on the new cast of queens.”

Returning will be host RuPaul and judges Michelle Visage, Carson Kressley and Ross Mathews.

The new season offers 90-minute episodes followed by RuPaul’s Drag Race: Untucked after show at 10:30 p.m.

Leave a comment

Read more about: