The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences announced recipients of Honorary Oscars this year who have all made significant contributions to the film industry in their own way. Among these honorees are the actor Michael J. Fox, director Peter Weir, songwriter Dianne Warren and director Euzhan Palcy.

Fox is receiving 2022’s Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, likely due to his creation of The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research. Fox suffers from early-onset Parkinson’s himself, and Academy President Dave Rubin said his “tireless advocacy of research on Parkinson’s disease alongside his boundless optimism exemplifies the impact of one person in changing the future for millions.”

Weir is an Australian film director known for helming films like The Truman Show and Dead Poets Society. Weir has not had a film project since the 2010 film The Way Back, but his films are extremely highly regarded and influential, garnering six Oscar nominations.

Warren is a songwriter and producer who has been nominated a staggering 13 times in the Best Original Song Oscars category and has also worked as a prolific songwriter for artists such as Cher, Britney Spears and Beyoncé. She has contributed memorable songs to the soundtracks of films like Con Air, Armageddon and Four Good Days.

Palcy is a writer/director originally from Martinique, The West Indies. Her feature film A Dry White Season (1989) was the first major Hollywood studio film directed by a black woman. She also brought acclaimed actor Marlon Brando out of a nine-year retirement from acting for the film.

These titans of the industry will be receiving their honorary Oscar gold at the Governor’s Awards this November.

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the uInterview newsletter

Read more about: