Metallica announced today on their website that they will be releasing remastered versions of their albums, Kill ‘Em All and Ride the Lightening to fans on April 15.

The band tweeted today, “Kill ‘Em All & Ride the Lightning will be reissued on April 15!”

“Both albums have been remastered for the most advanced sound quality possible and will be available in three formats – CD, vinyl and a deluxe box set. The deluxe box sets include original source material from the band’s personal collection with many never before heard or seen recordings along with books including rare photos and essays from those who were there,” their website states.

The deluxe box set include live performances, unreleased demos and rough mixes, interviews and radio spots. Both boxes include CDs, black vinyl records, vinyl picture discs and a DVD along with books including rare photos and essays and other paraphernalia.

“The deluxe numbered box set of Kill ‘Em All includes four vinyl records, five CDs, one DVD, a hardcover book including rare photos and a patch while the deluxe numbered box set of Ride the Lightning includes four vinyl records, six CDs, one DVD, a hardcover book including more of those unseen photos, a mini-book of lyrics handwritten by James Hetfield and a set of three posters,” said their website.

It also states that “the deluxe box sets are limited edition collectors’ items, so get yours before they are gone! You may pre-order both deluxe box sets at the Met Store now and all six new items will, of course, also be available at your local record stores around the world on Friday, April 15th.”

Each box set is listed as $149.99 a piece.


Read more about: