Lil Wayne dropped his 13th studio album, Funeral, on Friday. It includes 23 tracks and features guest appearances by Big Sean, Lil Baby, Adam Levine, Mad Prophet, Jay Rock, 2 Chainz, Takeoff and the late XXXTentacion amongst others. It’s an eagerly awaited follow-up to his 2018 album, Tha Carter V.


The rapper previously teased a short snippet from the album on his Instagram, in which he can be heard singing “Welcome to the funeral, closed casket as usual.”

View this post on Instagram

2 more hours 🥀

A post shared by Lil Wayne (@liltunechi) on


The album includes a tribute to Kobe Bryant on the song “Bling James” featuring Jay Rock. The song is the eighth one on the album and has 24 seconds of silence at the end of it. The numbers refer to Bryant’s Lakers jersey numbers, #8 and #24. Wayne has been a supporter of the Lakers for years and made the changes to the album to honor Bryant just hours before it was released.

The title Funeral caused many fans to worry that this was Wayne’s last album, but Wayne put an end to fans’ fears. “Hell no man,” he told Entertainment Weekly. “If my real funeral was tomorrow, it’s still not my last album.”


Read more about: