Although the buzz from the Grammy Awards has died down, the celebration of the past year’s music has not. The iHeartRadio Music Awards Show, broadcast last night, March 6, gave fans another opportunity to see their favorite artists perform live on television.

Katy PerryEd Sheeran, The Chainsmokers and Bruno Mars, all of whom performed during the Grammy’s, gave encore performances at the iHeartRadio Music Awards. The show saw performances from Big Sean, Noah Cyrus, Chris Martin, Thomas Rhett and Shawn Mendes as well.

Despite some overlap in nominees and winners, the results of the iHeartRadio Music Awards were mostly different from those of the Grammy’s.

While Chance The RapperAdele and Beyoncé headlined the Grammy’s, DrakeJustin Timberlake and The Chainsmokers dominated the iHeartRadio Music Awards.

The Chainsmokers – who were recently referred to as the Nickelback of EDM – received particularly high praise at last night’s show, winning awards for Best New Pop Artist, Dance Artist of the Year, and Dance Song of the Year. They also started the night with second most nominations, with 12 – only Drake’s 15 nominations beat them out.

Grateful for the recognition, they tweeted, “Thank you @iHeartRadio for everything. That was a really fun and special night!”

After winning the award for Song of the Year, Timberlake gave an impassioned and humorous speech that has been making waves on social media. “Being different means you make the difference, so f–k ’em,” Timberlake said, emphatically ending his speech about ignoring the haters.


Below are the winners and losers from last night’s show – winners appear in italics.

Song of the Year
“Can’t Stop The Feeling!” – Justin Timberlake
“Cheap Thrills” – Sia featuring Sean Paul
“Closer” – The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
“One Dance” – Drake featuring Wizkid and Kyla
“Stressed Out” – twenty one pilots

Female Artist of the Year
Ariana Grande
Selena Gomez

Male Artist of the Year
Justin Bieber
Luke Bryan
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd

Best Duo/Group of the Year
twenty one pilots
Florida Georgia Line
The Chainsmokers

Alternative Rock Song of the Year
“Heathens” – twenty one pilots
“Bored to Death” – blink-182
“Dark Necessities” – Red Hot Chili Peppers
“Ride” – twenty one pilots
“Trouble” – Cage The Elephant

Alternative Rock Artist of the Year
twenty one pilots
Cage The Elephant
The Strumbellas

Rock Song of the Year
“Bang Bang” – Green Day
“Dark Necessities” – Red Hot Chili Peppers
“Take Me Down” – The Pretty Reckless
“The Devil’s Bleeding Crown” – Volbeat
“The Sound Of Silence” – Disturbed

Rock Artist of the Year
Five Finger Death Punch
Red Hot Chili Peppers

Country Song of the Year
“Somewhere On A Beach” – Dierks Bentley
“Church Bells” – Carrie Underwood
“Snapback” – Old Dominion
“T-Shirt” – Thomas Rhett
“You Should Be Here” – Cole Swindell

Country Artist of the Year
Thomas Rhett
Carrie Underwood
Jason Aldean
Keith Urban
Luke Bryan

Dance Song of the Year
“Closer” – The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
“Cold Water” – Major Lazer featuring Justin Bieber and MØ
“Don’t Let Me Down” – The Chainsmokers featuring Daya
“I Took A Pill In Ibiza” – Mike Posner
“Let Me Love You” – DJ Snake featuring Justin Bieber

Dance Artist of the Year
The Chainsmokers
Calvin Harris
DJ Snake
Major Lazer

Hip-Hop Song of the Year
“One Dance” – Drake featuring Wizkid and Kyla
“All The Way Up” – Fat Joe and Remy Ma featuring French Montana and Infrared
“Controlla” – Drake
“For Free” – DJ Khaled featuring Drake
“Panda” – Desiigner

Hip-Hop Artist of the Year
DJ Khaled
J. Cole

R&B Song of the Year
“Needed Me” – Rihanna
“Exchange” – Bryson Tiller
“No Limit” – Usher featuring Young Thug
“Sorry” – Beyoncé
“Work” – Rihanna featuring Drake

R&B Artist of the Year
The Weekend
Bryson Tiller

Latin Song of the Year
“Duele El Corazon” – Enrique Iglesias featuring Wisin
“Ay Mi Dios” – IAmChino featuring Pitbull, Yandel and El Chacal
“De Pies A Cabeza” – Mana featuring Nicky Jam
“La Carretera” – Prince Royce
“Ya Me Enteré” – Reik featuring Nicky Jam

Latin Artist of the Year
Nicky Jam
Enrique Iglesias
J Balvin
Prince Royce

Regional Mexican Song of the Year
“Solo Con Verte” – Banda Sinaloense MS de Sergio Lizárraga
“Amor Del Bueno” – Calibre 50
“Cicatrices” – Regulo Caro
“Me Está Gustando” – Banda Los Recoditos
“¿Por Qué Terminamos?” – Gerardo Ortiz

Regional Mexican Artist of the Year
Calibre 50
Banda El Recodo de Cruz Lizárraga
Banda Los Recoditos
Gerardo Ortiz
Remmy Valenzuela

Best New Rock/Alternative Rock Artist
The Strumbellas
Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats
Red Sun Rising

Best New Country Artist
Kelsea Ballerini
Chris Lane
Chris Stapleton
Granger Smith
Maren Morris

Best New Hip-Hop Artist
Chance The Rapper
Kent Jones
Kevin Gates

Best New Latin Artist
Carlos Rivera
Christian Daniel
Sofia Reyes

Best New R&B Artist
Bryson Tiller
Kayla Brianna
Ro James

Best New Regional Mexican Artist
Joss Favela
Adriel Favela
Banda Los Sebastianes
Cheyo Carrillo
La Séptima Banda

Best New Pop Artist
The Chainsmokers
Alessia Cara
Lukas Graham

Producer of the Year
Benny Blanco
Greg Kurstin
Max Martin
Mike Elizondo
The Chainsmokers

Innovator Award
Bruno Mars

Best Tour

Most Thumbed Up Artist of the Year

Read more about: