At the Cannes closing ceremony on Sunday, the winners of the French Riviera film festival’s 66th year were announced. The coveted Palme d’Or was awarded to Abdellatif Kechiche's Blue Is The Warmest Color, a film that follows a young French girl's exploration of her sexuality.

Steven Spielberg was president of this year's festival jury, which included Nicole Kidman, Christoph Waltz and Ang Lee among others. The jury prize was awarded to Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Japanesse drama Like Father Like Son.

The Coen brothers (Joel and Ethan Coen) won the Grand Prix for Inside Llewyn Davis, which stars Carey Mulligan and Justin Timberlake. Anthony Chen’s ilo ilo won the Camera d’Or. Best Director went to Amat Escalante for Heli, while the Best Screenplay award was given to Touch of Sin’s Jia Zhangke. Berenice Bejo won for best Actress for her role in The Past, and Bruce Dern earned the Best Actor award for his turn in the Alexander Payne directed Nebraska.

Presided over by Audrey Tautou, the ceremony was followed by Zulu, the closing screening of the festival premiering out of competition that stars Orlando Bloom and Forest Whitaker.

Get Uinterview's FREE iPhone App For Daily News Updates here.

Get the FREE Uinterview iPad app here and watch our videos anywhere.

Read more about:

Leave a comment