Bruno Mars took home five awards at this year’s Soul Train Awards, beating out all other artists.


Mars’ wins included best male R&B/soul artist, song of the year for “That’s What I Like,” best video, best album/mixtape, and best dance performance for “24k Magic.” It was also a big night for SZA, who won best new artist and best female R&B/soul artist. Solange, who led the evening with seven nominations, took home only one – the Ashford & Simpson songwriter’s award, which she shared with Troy L. John and Raphael Saadiq for their work on “Cranes in the Sky.”

The show was hosted by Erykah Badu in Las Vegas. In a bold move, the host knelt in honor of blacklisted NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick, saying, “Kap, we appreciate you giving your life, giving up your dream because you believe in us.” Most of the audience members stood and applauded the move, while others raised their fists in the air.

Toni Braxton won the Don Cornelius Legend Award and followed up with a performance of a medley of her hits. She made a long speech thanking her fans and everyone else who helped her get to where she is now. Legendary girl group SVW took home the Lady of Soul Award.

See the complete list of winners below.

Best New Artist
Kevin Ross

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Bruno Mars — WINNER
Bryson Tiller
Chris Brown
The Weeknd

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Lalah Hathaway
Mary J. Blige

Soul Train Certified Award
Bell Biv Devoe — WINNER (TIE)
Johnny Gill
Lalah Hathaway
Ledisi — WINNER (TIE)
Mack Wilds

Video of the Year
Beyoncé — “All Night”
Bruno Mars — “24k Magic” — WINNER
Chris Brown — “Party (feat. Usher and Gucci Mane)”
DJ Khaled — “Wild Thoughts (feat. Rihanna and Bryson Tiller)”
Solange — “Cranes in the Sky”

Best Gospel/ Inspirational Award
Chance the Rapper
Charlie Wilson
Kirk Franklin
Lecrae — WINNER
Tamela Mann

Album/ Mixtape of the Year
Bruno Mars — “24k Magic” — WINNER
Mary J. Blige — “Strength of a Woman”
Solange — “A Seat at the Table”
SZA — “Ctrl”
The Weeknd — “Starboy”

Rhythm & Bars Award
Cardi B — “Bodak Yellow” — WINNER
DJ Khaled — “Wild Thoughts (feat. Rihanna and Bryson Tiller)”
French Montana — “Unforgettable (feat. Swae Lee)”
Kendrick Lamar — “Humble.”
Yo Gotti — “Rake It Up (feat. Nicki Minaj)”

Song of the Year
Bruno Mars — “That’s What I Like” — WINNER
Childish Gambino — “Redbone”
DJ Khaled — “Wild Thoughts (feat. Rihanna and Bryston Tiller)”
Khalid — “Location”
Solange — “Cranes in the Sky”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award
“Cranes in the Sky” — Troy L. John, Solange Knowles, Raphael Saadiq — WINNER
“Location” — Alfredo Emmanuel Gonzalez, Olatunji Olutomiwa, Samuel David Jimenez, Khalid Robinson, Joshua Scruggs
“Love Me Now” — Blake Matthew Simon Mills, John Henry Ryan, John Roger Stephens
“Redbone” — George Clinton, William Earl Collins, Gary Lee Cooer, Donald Mckinley Glover Ii, Ludwig Emil Tomas Goransson
“Versace on the Floor” — Christopher Steven Brown, James Edward Fauntleroy, Bruno Mars, Philip Martin Lawrence

Best Dance Performance
Bruno Mars — “24k Magic” — WINNER
Chris Brown — “Party (feat. Usher and Gucci Mane)”
DJ Khaled — “Wild Thoughts (feat. Rihanna and Bryson Tiller)”
Solange — “Don’t Touch My Hair (feat. Sampha)”
Wizkid — “Come Closer (feat. Drake)”

Best Collaboration
DJ Khaled — “Wild Thoughts (feat. Rihanna and Bryson Tiller)” — WINNER
Jazmine Sullivan and Bryson Tiller — “Insecure”
Mary J. Blige — “Love Yourself (feat. Kanye West)”
Solange — “Don’t Touch My Hair (feat. Sampha)”
SZA — “Love Galore (feat. Travis Scott)”

Leave a comment

Read more about: