Bindi Irwin was named the winner of Dancing with the Star’s 21st season Tuesday night.

Bindi Irwin Wins ‘DWTS’

Irwin, who was paired with pro Derek Hough throughout the competition, consistently placed at the top of the leaderboard. It came as little surprise that the dynamic pairing ending up besting the other duos to take home the coveted Mirror Ball Trophy last night.

During Wednesday night’s finale, Irwin and Hough got their eighth perfect score for their 24-hour fusion dance routine that combined a Cha Cha and an Argentine Tango.


A week of entertainment news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

At the end of the night, it was revealed that Alek Skarlatos and Lindsay Arnold had placed in third, Nick Carter and Sharna Burgess in second and Irwin and Hough in 1st.

“The most special part of this experience is to really be able to grow and touch on parts of my life that I never thought I would really go to and be able to share my journey and story with so many others,” Irwin said after the show.

Pointing to Hough, she added, “And to be able to gain another brother who’s been so special. I feel really blessed.”

Hough, who now has six Mirror Ball Trophies, chimed in to say, “To win at this level, at the standard the show has been raised to, has been incredible. More importantly, it’s just been so special with Bindi. She is just a champion of life.”

On Instagram, Irwin captioned a picture of her victory, “I am speechless. This is a gift and I can’t tell you how much love I have for all of your support throughout this beautiful journey. My life has been changed.”

A photo posted by Bindi Irwin (@bindisueirwin) on

Hough captioned his own photomontage of the moment, “Pure ecstasy !!!! Thank you for the love and support! I couldn’t be more happy for my beautiful @bindisueirwin. What a perfect way to finish a perfect season with a perfect person. #DWTS #thechampishere #season21dwts.”

A photo posted by Derek Hough (@derekhough) on

Dancing with the Stars will return March 21 for season 22.

Leave a comment

Read more about: