After showcasing the Top 12 male and female performers earlier in the week, the fate of the remaining America Idol hopefuls was left in the hands of the American public last night. Ryan Seacrest was given the job of revealing who voters had chosen to move on, revealing this season's Top 10 to be: Casey Abrams, Lauren Alaina, James Durbin, Jacob Lusk, Scott McCreery, Paul McDonald, Thia Megia, Haley Reinhard, Karen Rodriguez and Pia Toscano.

While many of this season's favorites were chosen to advance, the judges seemed surprised at the absence of rocker Lauren Turner. In addition to the Top 10, the judges were given their choice of wild card contestants, choosing to save Naima Adedapo, Ashthon Jones and Stefano Langone from going home.

The Top 13 contestants will perform again on Wednesday night, before facing another elimination round on Thursday. —EMILY EXTON

Read more about: